LIC Recognizes the 115th U.S. Congress

December 20, 2018

As the tenure of the 115th US Congress nears its end, the Lebanese Information Center (LIC), the largest grassroots organization of Lebanese-Americans, would like to thank all its members for their service. Throughout their mandate, these Congressmen and Congresswomen adopted principled positions and took firm action to protect the national interests of the United States in the Middle East, while maintaining America's historic support for the freedom, sovereignty, and independence of Lebanon against the existential threats of the Islamic State group and Iran. 

Among Congress's landmark decisions were: 

·       Appropriating over $500m to Lebanon over fiscal years 2017-2019 in security, economic, and refugee assistance.

·       Passing Bills and Resolutions that backed Lebanon’s sovereignty, addressed the threat of Iran's expansionism in the Middle East, and specifically targeted Tehran's use of proxy militias like Hezbollah by chipping away at the Party of God's financial and criminal network.

·       Passing landmark legislation, namely the Hizballah International Financing Prevention Amendments Act of 2018 (HIFPA) and Sanctioning the Use of Civilians as Defenseless Shields Act.

·       Holding four hearings specifically on Lebanon.

·       Sending 12 Congressional Delegations (CODEL) to visit Lebanon.

·       Engaging proactively with Lebanese-American communities, especially by welcoming LIC President Joseph Gebeily and other members at their Washington offices and meeting with LIC local representatives at state district offices in NJ, NV, OH, IL, CA, FL, TX, AZ, LA, and NH.

The LIC is especially honored to recognize members of both Chambers who showed special interest in Lebanon's current affairs, maintained regular contact with the LIC and even took the time to travel to Lebanon:

·       Senators Bob Corker, Marco Rubio, Lindsey Graham, Tom Cotton, Tim Kaine, Jeanne Shaheen, Dean Heller, Richard Burr, John Cornyn, James Lankford, Michael Bennett, Cory Booker, and our dear friend the departed John McCain.

·       US Representatives Steve Chabot, Ed Royce, Eliot Engel, Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Ted Deutch, Michael McCaul, Frank Pallone, Pete Sessions, Marcy Kaptur, Adam Kinzinger, Mike Gallagher, Thomas Suozzi, Martha McSally, Andy Gibbs, Rodney Frelinghuysen, Dutch Ruppersberger, Stephen Lynch, Darrell Issa, Darin LaHood, Ralph Abraham, Harold Rogers, Gus Bilirakis, David Price, Ken Calvert, Chuck Fleischmann, David Joyce, and Evan Jenkins.

The LIC looks forward to continuing its close relationship with the US Congress and other government offices to pursue the common goal of a democratic, prosperous, and independent Lebanon.   





© 2018 Lebanese Information Center –




"The Lebanese Information Center (LIC) is an independent, non-profit Research Institute committed to providing historical resources as well as updated and accurate information for individuals and institutions seeking to learn about Lebanon and its people. "